Zimbabwean opposition leader Morgan Tsvangirai is a real hero of nonviolence, peace and reconciliation – and it’s a shame he didn’t get more solidarity from all the people who once supported Nelson Mandela in his fight against the apartheid system.

This is how Tsvangirai has explained his decision to share power with Mugabe in a national unity government:

Speech on the SADC brokered signing in ceremony

“We had two options: To put aside our differences and unite in order our people real hope, or continue to let the impasse plunge our country in to the abyss of a failed state.

People may ask how we, who have been opponents for so long, can possibly work together in government. On this I ask all Zimbabweans to hear these words.

I have signed this agreement because I believe it represents the best opportunity for us to build a peaceful, prosperous, democratic Zimbabwe. I have signed this agreement because my belief in Zimbabwe and its peoples runs deeper than the scars I bear from the struggle. I have signed this agreement because my hope for the future is stronger than the grief I feel for the needless suffering of the past years.

Today, every one of us has a decision to make. Shall we be driven by the feelings we have towards those we blame for the suffering we have endured, or shall we be driven by the hope of a new, better, brighter country, the hope of a new beginning?”

